AJK election: Here are the five constituencies to watch

1 month ago 37
 Here are the 5  constituencies to watch

The 45 wide constituencies of the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir volition beryllium up for grabs connected Sunday, erstwhile voters caput to the polls aft 5 years.

All 3 large governmental parties of Pakistan — the ruling PTI, PPP and PML-N – are successful the fray. The past clip AJK held a wide predetermination was successful 2016, erstwhile the then-center-ruling PML-N formed government.

Who volition triumph this time? While the last results volition beryllium announced connected Sunday, governmental commentators and experts are keeping a adjacent oculus connected these 5 hotly-contested constituencies:

LA-3 Mirpur

Contestants: PTI’s Sultan Mehmood Chaudhary vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Muhammad Saeed

Background: In 2016 Saeed defeated Chaudhry from this constituency with conscionable 3,000 votes. But aboriginal Saeed was declared ineligible by a tribunal and by-elections had to beryllium held. In the by-polls, Chaudhry won and was elected subordinate of the legislative assembly.

On Sunday, the 2 arch-rivals — Saeed and Chaudhry — volition look disconnected again.

Problems of the constituency: Construction of Rathoa Haryam Bridge successful Mirpur, cleanable drinking h2o and load shedding.

LA 7 Bhimber

Contestants: PTI’s Chaudhary Anwar ul Haq vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Tariq Farooq

Background: Former speaker, Anwar ul Haq, who precocious joined PTI is up against elder curate Tariq Farooq, who has emerged palmy from this constituency thrice. In 2016, Farooq trounced Haq with implicit 2,000 votes. At that clip Haq was an autarkic candidate.

Problems of the constituency: Unemployment, cleanable drinking water, nary gas, nary due wellness facility.

LA 10 Kotli

Contestants: PPP’s Muhammad Yasin vs Muslim Conference’s Farooq Sikandar vs PTI’s Malik Muhammad Yousaf

Background: This is simply a metropolis constituency, wherever erstwhile elder curate and person of absorption Muhammad Yasin is contesting for the archetypal time. He is besides a campaigner from his location constituency. His main rival is erstwhile premier curate and president Farooq Sikander Hayat’s son, Farooq Sikandar, who was elected arsenic MNA from this constituency successful 2016 connected a PMLN ticket.

Meanwhile, Yousaf has antecedently contested connected a PMLN summons doubly and has present switched to PTI.

Problems of the constituency: Clean drinking water, nary due sewerage system, unemployment

LA 14 Bagh

Contestants: Former premier curate and caput of the Muslim Conference's Sardar Ateeq Ahmed Khan, vs PTI’s Major Lateef Khaleeq

Background: Khaleeq was antecedently successful the Jamaat-e-Islami. This constituency is considered a winning constituency for the Muslim Conference, arsenic successful 2016, Ahmed Khan won with implicit 30,000 votes portion Khaleeq came successful third.

Problems of the constituency: The biggest occupation is water, since the constituency is successful a mountainous area, determination are nary earthy springs. More than 100 schools are moving without due structures, and the roads are successful mediocre condition.

LA 15 Bagh

Contestants: PTI’s Tanveer Ilyas vs PML-N's Mushtaq Minhas vs Muslim Conference’s Raja Yaseen

Background: Ilyas is contesting for the archetypal time, but helium is backed by a almighty and notable radical of the PTI. He is besides being named arsenic a imaginable campaigner for premier curate of AJK. Another vantage to Ilyas has been the resignation of JI’s Abdul Rashid Turabi successful favour of Ilyas.

Minhas is simply a erstwhile writer and Yaseen was antecedently a elder curate successful the assembly.

Problems of the constituency: Roads are dilapidated, load shedding, deficiency of acquisition and wellness facilities, unemployment

Read Entire Article